Search this Site

VFF Twitter

Only days left until the
2020 Festival.

September 25, 26, 27, 2020

Print/Mail this page

Click the settings icon wheel-icon to access the print and email icons to print or email this page.

Facebook Like


Our collection of photos from the Festival is here.

Door prize winners:

MacKechnie House B. & B. – 2 night stay
Cary Grant Screen Legend Collection DVD Box set
Toronto Silent Film Festival Tickets for 2 Opening Night Film “The Wind"
2 Vintage DVDs
2 Vintage DVDs
Cathy Goden
Jana Beeke
June Chambers
Elizabeth Wilson
Judy Duncan

We managed to find funds for two winners again for 2013. As usual we announced the winners at Dressler house in the summer (see photo below right) and then the two winners were invited to our Gala on Friday night. We continue to be amazed and impressed with the level of talent in the Cobourg area - but we had to pick only two!

Maia Desjardins (at left) - Maia was home-schooled and on the Honour Roll for four years with the Virtual Learning Centre. She is attending the University of Guelph to work towards an honours degree, majoring in arts, studio art and history. Her main interest is in design and she's been mentored by renowned costume designer Suzanne Mess, who lives in Cobourg. Maia said she chose Guelph because it has a good visual arts program "which a lot of people don't know about. They also have beekeeping, so I might take that as well."

Once again we are able to award two bursary/Scholarships. The winners were announced on August 13 [2012] and Northumberland Today covered the event with their story here.

The photo (below right) shows VFF Chair Chris Worsnop with the two winners: Heather Abrams and Patrick Quigley.

We recently asked for help in choosing our program for 2012. We wanted to know which three of six Oscar winning movies we should show. The results are shown below. Our full [2012] program includes these three winners.

Year Movie Winners
1929-30 All Quiet on the Western Front #2
1939 Gone with the Wind  
1940 Rebecca #1
1946 The Best Years of Our Lives #3
1950 All About Eve  
1953 From Here to Eternity  

A big thank you to everyone who participated

This year we received a record number of applications for our $1,000 bursary award, all excellent candidates and a credit to their course instructors. Through additional sponsorship, we have been able to give a second bursary this year.

The Vintage Film Festival Committee members are pleased to announce that the winner of this year's scholarship of $1000 is Melissa MacCoubrey.

Melissa is attending Bishop’s University, Shebrooke and was not able to attend the award ceremony in Victoria Hall on October 29. However, her parents were there to accept on her behalf.